MEPRA PR Measurement Workshop ‘An introduction to the Barcelona Principles & importance of goal setting’

A brief confession. Last year I tried to apply for the IABC‘s Accredited Business Communicator certification. I thought it would be easy considering the clients I have worked on and also the projects I designed and implemented – of which I am still extremely proud.

I was able to complete 90% of the submission to a very good standard. Then I came to the section requiring me to explain the outcomes of the initiatives. And… I came a cropper. OK, I have a lot of press clippings and I have significant ROI from AVEs… but actual business outcomes?

The campaigns were successful that was clear from my client’s satisfaction and the agency’s profit & loss account. I also received a few happy emails from my clients, and once even a direct financial bonus.

But hard, solid, presentable achievements…

I was depressed. I had worked for 12 years and I don’t know what I have actually contributed…

Then I discovered the Barcelona Principles and I have been an advocate of outcome-based communications ever since. This is one of the reasons I have been so prolific in writing about the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI – see earlier posts) because it provides guidance on how to measure a PRO’s impact on an organisation among other things.

Hence I heartily recommend you to register and attend MEPRA’s PR Measurement workshop on June 21 by emailing: admin@mepra.org (details below!).


About stephenking2012

In 2012 I volunteered to hold the position of Chair - Standards & Ethics Committee for the Middle East PR Association (@MEPRA_org). I have set up this account to assist in this effort. You may also like to follow my Blog or connect with me on LinkedIn. In any case, please do visit www.mepra.org, and if you are not yet a member, please do sign up!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

